AGHE Awards - Hiram J. Friedsam Mentorship Award

Article Index

Hiram J. Friedsam Mentorship Award

Purpose of the Award

Hiram J. Friedsam was a professor, co-founder, and director of the Center for Studies in Aging and Dean of the School of Community Service at the University of North Texas. The University of North Texas established the first gerontology program in the state of Texas and one of the first in the nation. He was an outstanding teacher, researcher, colleague, and mentor to students, faculty, and administrators, and a past-president of AGHE. The purpose of this award is to recognize those who emulate Dr. Friedsam's excellence in mentorship.

The awardee receives an engraved plaque, $500 cash award (dependent upon funding), and delivers a lecture on mentoring at the GSA Annual Scientific Meeting.

Submission Period

Spring 2024

Eligibility Criteria

  • Nominees must have contributed to gerontological and/or geriatrics education through excellence in mentorship to students, faculty, or administrators and have advanced the goals and mission of the Academy for Gerontology in Higher Education.
  • Affiliated with an AGHE institution or GSA member with AGHE designated as a primary or secondary section.

Nomination Process

Required Nomination Packet Materials 

  • A single nomination letter signed by at least 3 supporters. 
  • A current Curriculum Vitae

Nature of the Award

The awardee receives $500, an engraved plaque, and delivers a lecture at the GSA Annual Scientific Meeting.

Past Recipients

2022 Rona J. Karasik | St. Cloud University
2021 Pamela Elfenbein | University of North Georgia
2020 Karen Kopera-Frye | New Mexico State University
2019 Bradley Fisher | Missouri State University
2018 Phillip G. Clark | University of Rhode Island
2017 Kelvin J. A. Davies | University of Southern California
2016 Jan Abushakrah | Portland Community College
2015 Jennifer C. Mendez | Wayne State University
2014 Nina M. Silverstein | University of Massachusetts Boston
2013 Lesa Lorenzen Huber | Indiana University
2012 Marilyn R. Gugliucci | University of New England
2011 Dena Shenk | University of North Carolina Charlotte
2010 David A. Chiriboga | University of South Florida
2009 Suzanne R. Kunkel | Miami University

Share This Page!

Print Page