AGHE Awards - Part-Time/Adjunct Faculty Honor

Article Index

Part-Time/Adjunct Faculty Honor

Purpose of the Honor

Nationwide, reliance on part-time and/or adjunct faculty to teach gerontology and/or geriatrics courses is very high. Without the efforts and dedication of these individuals, often at extremely low compensation, gerontology and geriatrics programs might not be able to deliver a full curriculum. Accordingly, AGHE invites you to nominate one of these individuals so that he/she might be formally honored for contributions to gerontology and/or geriatrics education at your institution.

Recipient(s) receive a personalized certificate at the AGHE Breakfast at the GSA Annual Meeting. 

This is an honor rather than a competitive award. Those nominated are not required to attend the GSA Annual Meeting.

Submission Period

Summer 2024

Eligibility Criteria

Each member institution may nominate one part-time/adjunct faculty member per year.

  • Nominees should demonstrate high quality teaching as documented by peer and/or student evaluations.
  • Nominees should also demonstrate a long-term commitment (at least five years) to gerontology and/or geriatrics education both in the classroom and beyond.
  • Full-time faculty are not eligible to receive this award even if their gerontology and/or geriatrics assignments are part-time.
  • Affiliated with an AGHE institution or GSA member with AGHE designated as a primary or secondary section.

This is a honor rather than a competitive award. Those nominated are not required to attend the GSA Annual Meeting or be active members of AGHE.

Nomination Process

Required Nomination Packet Materials

  • A single nomination letter signed by at least 3 supporters that should include the following:
    • Courses taught by nominee
    • How long the nominee has taught at your institution
    • Any other forms of service to the department/program (excluding teaching)
    • What makes this person deserving of this honor?
  • A current Curriculum Vitae or Resume with information relevant to the award highlighted.

Nature of the Award 

The recipient receives a framed certificate and is recognized during the AGHE Business Meeting at the GSA Annual Meeting. 

Past Recipients

2022 Joe DeMattos | University of Maryland Baltimore County; Josh Johnson | University of Southern California
2021 Karon L. Phillips | Trust for America's Health, University of Maryland Baltimore County, University of Maryland Global Campus
2021 Katie Kutcher | University of North Carolina, Charlotte
2020 Mary Frances DeRose | University of Massachusetts Boston
2019 Vincent Bisson | Lasell College, Georgene R. Nitzsche | Univeristy of Indianapolis
2018 Roger Anunsen | Portland Community College and Amanda P. Weber | Towson University
2017 Robert S. Anderson Jr. | University of New England, Lisa A. Kendall | Ithaca College and Robin Sherman | University of Massachusetts Boston
2016 Gregory D. Bearce | University of Southern California
2014 Victoria S. Thieme | University of New England, Judith Griffin | University of Massachusetts Boston and Barbara Hughes Leasure | Carroll Lutheran Village
2013 David Oliver | University of Missouri-Columbia
2012 Reeve Lipworth Goldhaber | Boston University and Louise M. Murray | University of North Carolina Charlotte
2011 Charlotte Paolini | University of New England
2009 Darlene Heian | Utica College
2008 Christa Caldarale-Ahern | The Richard Stockton College of New Jersey and Catherine Ivy | Georgia State University
2007 Anne Summer | University of New England, John Hogan | Oregon State University and Marilynn G. Goering | Madonna University
2006 Kaye Herzer | Spokane Falls Community College

Share This Page!

Print Page