AGHE Awards - Administrative Leadership Honor

Article Index

Administrative Leadership Honor

Purpose of the Honor

The Administrative Leadership Honor honors administrators on AGHE member campuses who have made exceptional efforts in support of gerontology and/or geriatrics education. Recipient(s) receive a personalized certificate at the AGHE Business Meeting at the GSA Annual Meeting. 

Recipient(s) receive a framed certificate at the AGHE Breakfast at the GSA Annual Meeting. This is an honor rather than a competitive award. Those nominated are not required to attend the GSA Annual Meeting.

Submission Period

Summer 2024

Eligibility Criteria

  • Nominees should be administrators above the level of everyday program operation, such as Deans, Provosts, or Presidents.
  • Such individuals must have 'gone the extra mile' to support gerontology and/or geriatrics education on campus.
  • Affiliated with an AGHE institution or GSA member with AGHE designated as a primary or secondary section.

Nomination Process

Required Nomination Packet Materials

  • A single nomination letter signed by at least 3 supporters that includes the following:
    • outline of administrative efforts preformed by the nominee that supported gerontology at nominees institution
    • outline of accomplishments that have been attained by the department/program and/or across the institution in gerontology/geriatrics as a results of the nominee's support 
  • A current Curriculum Vitae with information relevant to the award highlighted.

Nature of the Award

The recipient receives a framed certificate and is recognized during the AGHE Business Meeting of the GSA Annual Meeting. 

Past Recipients

2022  Marla J. De Jong | University of Utah College of Nursing
2021  Maria L.G. Henke | University of Southern California
2020  Freeman A. Hrabowski III | University of Maryland, Baltimore County
2019  Not Awarded
2018  Joann M. Montepare | Lasell College
2017  John R. Bartle | University of Nebraska, Omaha, J. Kevin Eckert, PhD | University of Maryland, Baltimore County and Danielle N. Ripich | University of New England
2016  * Pinchas Cohen | University of Southern California
2015  Not Awarded
2014  Robbyn R. Wacker | University of Northern Colorado
2013  Judy L. Genshaft | University of South Florida
2012  Nadine A. Coudret | University of Southern Indiana
2011-10 Not Awarded
2009  Tammy M. Bray | Oregon State University
2008   Malinda Orlin | The University of Maryland in Baltimore and Scott Bass | University of Maryland Baltimore County
* Award was changed to an honor in April 2016

Share This Page!

Print Page