Social Research, Policy, and Practice Section Awards - Elaine M. Brody Award

Article Index

Elaine M. Brody SRPP Thought Leader Award

The Elaine M. Brody Thought Leader Award is conferred by the Social Research, Policy, and Practice (SRPP) Section to a mid- or late-career member of the section in acknowledgement of outstanding contributions in social research, policy, and practice. 

The awardee receives a $500 cash prize and plaque that will be presented to the SRPP member at the SRPP Business Meeting and Awards Luncheon at the GSA Annual Scientific Meeting. The awardee also will present a short “TED talk”-type presentation (5 minutes / 5 slides) at the SRPP Business Meeting and Awards Luncheon.

Submission Period
Spring 2024

Eligibility Criteria

  • Nominee must be a member of the Social Research, Policy & Practice section for at least five years.
  • Nominee must have published in research, policy, and/or practice publications within the past five years.

Nomination Process

Required Nomination Packet Materials: 

  • A single nomination letter signed by at least three (3) supporters that includes the following:
    • the nominee’s contribution, influence, and impact on research, policy and/or practice in the field of gerontology
  • A current Curriculum Vitae 
  • A digital copy of at least one, and not more than five, relevant policy/practice/research publications. 

Nature of Award

The recipient receives $500, a framed certificate, and delivers a lecture at the GSA Annual Meeting. 

Past Awardees
View here

Share This Page!

Print Page