Society-Wide Awards - Margret & Paul Baltes Award

Article Index

Margret M. and Paul B. Baltes Award

Margret M. & Paul B. BaltesThe Margret M. and Paul B. Baltes Foundation Award in Behavioral and Social Gerontology acknowledges outstanding early career contributions in behavioral and social gerontology.

The award will be given to a person from any discipline in the social sciences. Eligible nominees must have the Ph.D. degree and must not be more than 10 years past the date the Ph.D. was awarded. Nominations are not restricted to GSA members. International participation is encouraged. Nominations made by others or self-nominations will be accepted.

The award recipient will receive a plaque and a $1,000 cash award and is invited to present a lecture at the GSA Annual Scientific Meeting the following year.

Submission Period
Spring 2024

Eligibility Criteria

  • Nominee must have a PhD. 
    • PhD must have been awarded in past 10 years. 

Nomination Process

  • Required Nomination Packet Materials: 

    • Single letter of nomination signed by at least three (3) supporters. 
      • Detail the research of nominee and present a case for its impact and contribution.
    • A current Curriculum Vitae. 

Nature of Award

The recipient receives $1000, an engraved plaque, and delivers a lecture at the GSA Annual Scientific Meeting. 

Past Recipient's Lectures"," by Denis Gerstorf and Nilam Ram, is based on the Baltes Award Lecture given at the Annual Scientific Meeting of The Gerontological Society of America held in San Diego, California, in November 2012.

Share This Page!

Print Page