The Academy for Gerontology in Higher Education Honors New Officers, Fellows, Awardees

For Immediate Release
February 28, 2018

Contact: Todd Kluss
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
(202) 587-2839

The Academy for Gerontology in Higher Education (AGHE) — the educational branch of The Gerontological Society of America — is proud to announce its newest elected officers, fellows, and awardees. The installation of the officers and presentation of the awards will occur at AGHE’s 44th Annual Meeting and Educational Leadership Conference, taking place from March 1 to 4, 2018, at the Sheraton Atlanta Hotel in Atlanta, Georgia. This event provides a forum for professionals in the field of aging to present their work and share ideas about gerontological and geriatric education and training. Visit for complete details.

These individuals are responsible for matters of governance and strategic planning for the organization.

Lisa Hollis Sawyer, PhD, Northeastern Illinois University

Carrie Andreoletti, PhD, Central Connecticut State University

Karen Kopera-Frye, PhD, New Mexico State University
Thomas A. Teasdale, DrPH, University of Oklahoma
Loriena A. Yancura, PhD, University of Hawai’i at Mānoa

AGHE fellow status is an honor that recognizes outstanding leadership in gerontology and geriatrics education by established scholars and educators.

Hallie E. Baker, PhD, Muskingum University
Maria L. Claver, PhD, California State University, Long Beach
Elizabeth A. Elmore, PhD, Stockton University
Heidi H. Ewen, PhD, University of Georgia
Janet S. Hahn, PhD, Western Michigan University
Tina M. Kruger, PhD, Indiana State University

Clark Tibbitts Award
Presented to Marilyn R. Gugliucci, PhD, University of New England
Saturday, March 3, 6:30 p.m.
This award was established in 1980 to recognize individuals who and organizations that have made outstanding contributions to the advancement gerontology as a field of study in institutions of higher education.

Hiram J. Friedsam Mentorship Award
Presented to Phillip G. Clark, ScD, University of Rhode Island
Saturday, March 3, 8:30 a.m.
This award, named for an outstanding mentor in gerontology, is given to an individual who has contributed to gerontological education through excellence in mentorship to students, faculty, and administrators.

Distinguished Faculty Award
Presented to Phyllis A. Greenberg, PhD, St. Cloud State University
Friday, March 2, 7:30 a.m.
This award recognizes persons whose teaching stands out as exemplary, innovative, of impact, or any combination thereof.

Rising Star Early Career Faculty Award
Presented to Eric C. Schoenmakers, PhD, Fontys University of Applied Sciences
Friday, March 2, 7:30 a.m.
This award recognizes new faculty whose teaching and/or leadership stands out as impactful and innovative.

David A. Peterson Gerontology & Geriatrics Education Best Paper of the Volume Award
Presented to Liz Seidel, MSW, ACRIA; Stephen E. Karpiak, PhD, ACRIA; and Mark Brennan-Ing, PhD, ACRIA, for “Training Senior Service Providers about HIV and aging: Evaluation of a Multiyear, Multicity Initiative”
Friday, March 2, 6:30 p.m.
The purpose of this award is to recognize excellence in scholarship in academic gerontology in AGHE’s official journal, Gerontology & Geriatrics Education.

Student Leadership Award
Presented to Catherine Pérez, MS, University of Southern California
Friday, March 2, 6:30 p.m.
This award recognizes students whose leadership has advanced the goals and mission of AGHE as well as the respective goals of their AGHE-affiliated institutions.

Graduate Student Paper Award
Presented to Jill J. Naar, MS, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
Friday, March 2, 6:30 p.m.
This award recognizes excellence in scholarly work by a student at an AGHE member institution who presents his or her work at the annual meeting.

James McKenney Student Travel Award
Presented to Travis Friot, RYT 200, Portland Community College; Sarah D. Holmes, MSW, University of Maryland, Baltimore County; Lars Hopman, Windesheim University of Applied Sciences; Meghan McDarby, BS, Washington University in St. Louis; Jill J. Naar, MS, Virginia Polytechnic Institute & State University; Rachel Sluder, BS, University of New England; Briana N. Sprague, MS, The Pennsylvania State University; Daniel B. Stewart, MS, Saint Louis University; Maureen E. Templeman, MEd, University of South Florida; and Loretta Wolf, MA, University of Nebraska, Omaha
Friday, March 2, 6:30 p.m.
This award provides travel funds for students to attend the AGHE Annual Meeting and Educational Leadership Conference. Approximately 10 students will be selected to receive travel funds each year.

Book Award for Best Children’s Literature on Aging
Presented to
Eliah Takushi, Carly Tan, and Colby Takeda, It’s Just Aging (2017) for Primary Reader Category
Lindsay Eagar, Hour of the Bees (2016) for Elementary Reader Category
Saturday, March 3, 5:00 p.m.
This award recognizes positive portrayals of older adults in children’s literature.

Administrative Leadership Honor
Presented to Joann M. Montepare, PhD, Lasell College
Friday, March 2, 6:30 p.m.
This award honors administrators on AGHE member campuses who have made exceptional efforts in support of gerontology or geriatrics education.

Part-Time/Adjunct Faculty Honor
Friday, March 2, 6:30 p.m.
Presented to Roger Anunsen, JD, Portland Community College; and Amanda P. Weber, MS, Towson University
This award recognizes part-time and/or adjunct faculty for their contributions to gerontological education at an AGHE member institution.

Mildred M. Seltzer Distinguished Service Honor
Presented to Sandra L. McGuire, EdD, University of Tennessee, Knoxville; Edwin Rosenberg, PhD, Appalachian State University; Graham D. Rowles, PhD, University of Kentucky; and Harvey L. Sterns, PhD, The University of Akron
Friday, March 2, 6:30 p.m.
This award honors colleagues who are near retirement or recently retired. Recipients are individuals who have been actively involved in AGHE through service on committees, as elected officers, and/or have provided leadership in one of AGHE’s grant-funded projects.


The Academy for Gerontology in Higher Education (AGHE) is the educational unit of The Gerontological Society of America, the nation’s oldest and largest interdisciplinary organization devoted to research, education, and practice in the field of aging. AGHE seeks to advance gerontology as a field of study at institutions of higher education through conferences, publications, technical assistance, research studies, and consultation with policy makers. It is currently the only institutional member organization dedicated to gerontology and geriatrics education worldwide.